Section.80 Album

Various Artists

About Section.80

Section.80 is the debut studio album by American rapper Kendrick Lamar. It was released on July 2, 2011, through Top Dawg Entertainment. The album features guest appearances from GLC, Colin Munroe, Ashtrobot, BJ the Chicago Kid, Schoolboy Q, Ab-Soul and vocals from late singer-songwriter Alori Joh. The production was mainly handled by Top Dawg in-house producers from production group Digi+Phonics, along with THC, Tommy Black, Wyldfyer, Terrace Martin and J. Cole. The concept album features lyrical themes delivered by Lamar such as the 1980s crack epidemic, racism and medication tolerance. The album's lead single, "HiiiPoWeR" was released on April 12, 2011. Section.80 received generally positive reviews from critics and debuted at number 113 on the US Billboard 200. As of February 2014, Section.80 sold 130,000 copies domestically. In April 2017, it was certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA). 


Share your thoughts about the Section.80 album with the community:



    Use the citation below to add this album to your bibliography:


    "Section.80 Album." STANDS4 LLC, 2021. Web. 6 Mar. 2021. <>.


    Are you a music master?

    “I could be president of ____________ , baby, huh — Or just a tiny little grain of sand.”
    • A. Ford Motor
    • B. General Motors
    • C. Harley-Davidson
    • D. Daimler Chrysler

    Free, no signup required:

    Add to Chrome

    Get instant explanation for any lyrics that hits you anywhere on the web!

    Free, no signup required:

    Add to Firefox

    Get instant explanation for any acronym or abbreviation that hits you anywhere on the web!