Shut 'Em Down Album

Various Artists

About Shut 'Em Down

Shut 'Em Down is the third album by American hip hop group Onyx, released on June 2, 1998 by JMJ Records and Def Jam. The album was produced by Keith Horne and Self, with help from DJ Scratch of EPMD, Bud'da and Latief. The album features guest appearances from Onyx's affiliate X-1, DMX, a then unknown 50 Cent, Still Livin from Gang Green, All City, Mr. Cheeks, Wu-Tang Clan, N. O. R. E., Big Pun and others. Shut 'Em Down debuted at number 10 on the US Billboard 200, and number 3 on the Top R&B/Hip Hop Albums chart. The album features three the Billboard singles The Worst, Shut 'Em Down and React. The album sold fairly well, moving over 500,000 units."Shut 'Em Down" is the last album, released by Onyx on the Def Jam. JMJ Records as well as Onyx was officially removed from Def Jam on "Black Thursday" - January 21, 1999 - because the label PolyGram, who in 1994 purchased 50% of Sony's Def Jam, was sold to Seagram on December 10, 1998.  


Share your thoughts about the Shut 'Em Down album with the community:


Use the citation below to add this album to your bibliography:


"Shut 'Em Down Album." STANDS4 LLC, 2020. Web. 25 May 2020. <>.

Free, no signup required:

Add to Chrome

Get instant explanation for any lyrics that hits you anywhere on the web!

Free, no signup required:

Add to Firefox

Get instant explanation for any acronym or abbreviation that hits you anywhere on the web!