Moss Elixir Album

Robyn Hitchcock

About Moss Elixir

Moss Elixir is the eleventh studio album by Robyn Hitchcock, released in 1996, containing twelve original compositions, predominantly acoustic, and released by Warner Music. Following the traumatic loss of his father, Hitchcock had recorded little in the preceding five years. When he re-emerged, he had dispensed with old group The Egyptians and begun working here with new musicians, including Deni Bonet, a violinist with whom Hitchcock would collaborate several times in the years following. Moss Elixir came packaged in green and gold, continuing the theme of his earlier solo acoustic albums, I Often Dream of Trains and Eye. The CD insert includes a short story: a vaguely autobiographical, surrealist account of Hitchcock in the afterlife, which weaves several images and titles from the album's contents into its storyline, including the elixir of the album's title. The name of the track "De Chirico Street" refers to metaphysical painter Giorgio de Chirico. 


Share your thoughts about the Moss Elixir album with the community:


Use the citation below to add this album to your bibliography:


"Moss Elixir Album." STANDS4 LLC, 2020. Web. 28 May 2020. <>.

Missing lyrics by Robyn Hitchcock?

Know any other songs by Robyn Hitchcock? Don't keep it to yourself!

Don't miss Robyn Hitchcock's

Upcoming Events


Free, no signup required:

Add to Chrome

Get instant explanation for any lyrics that hits you anywhere on the web!

Free, no signup required:

Add to Firefox

Get instant explanation for any acronym or abbreviation that hits you anywhere on the web!